Prev Article Next Article

Race Wrap—24th Annual Whipple Superchargers NMRA World Finals Featuring The Holley Intergalactic Ford Festival

Posted By: Steve Baur
The 24th Annual Whipple Superchargers NMRA All-Ford World Finals presented by Competition Clutch & Holley Intergalactic Ford Festival at Beech Bend Raceway Park in Bowling Green, Kentucky, wrapped up another successful and action-packed season. In addition to the championship Holley NMRA drag racing, attendees were enthralled with the screaming drift cars of Vaughn Gittin Jr., Chelsea DeNofa and newcomer Adam LZ, the tire-blasting burnout contest, an off-road course, and new for this year, the Retro Meet.
Shawn Pevlor
The 16-car field of VP Racing Madditives Renegade was tight, with defending and two-time champion Joel Greathouse leading the charge in qualifying with a 4.52. The finals came down to Greathouse and his KBX Performance teammate Shawn Pevlor, with Pevlor collecting his first NMRA win in his nitrous-assisted machine, 4.51 to 4.58. 
Del Holbrook
Right from testing on Thursday, it looked to be a tight battle between JDM Engineering Limited Street points leader Samantha Moore and rookie Del Holbrook, as the two continually clocked personal best ETs and qualified first and second respectively. Moore was also the first Limited Street racer to post a 7-second pass in competition and set the class record once again. In the final round of eliminations, however, Holbrook took the advantage at the tree (.111 to .192) and a hot tuneup netted him a winning 7.94 to Moore’s 8.01.
Charlie Booze Jr.
Charlie Booze Jr. narrowly edged out Frank Paultanis in qualifying with a 9.73, and he used that horsepower to put him into the final round of G-Force Transmissions Coyote Stock competition. There, he faced Ed Bennett, who did his job on the tree, but couldn’t run down Booze Jr.’s 9.685 with his 9.748 run.
Mark Anderson
Mark Anderson gave up the starting line advantage during the Richmond Gear Factory Stock final, but he had the muscle under the hood to chase down Mike Bowen and clocked the first 9-second run in Factory Stock history with a winning 9.91 to Bowen’s 10.12.
Though Paul Svinicki’s Godzilla-powered Cobra Jet led ARP Open Comp qualifying, it was Mel White who drove to the Winner’s Circle in Beech Bend after defeating Gordon Harlow in the final round of competition.
Shane Williams
After collecting wins for the Michigan make-up eliminations in both Open Comp and Modular Muscle earlier in the weekend, Shane Williams continued his streak of success by turning on the win light in the final round of Exedy Racing Clutch Modular Muscle competition after defeating Lee Blankenship.
Brian Keiser proved tough on the tree in the final round of HP Tuners Super Stang competition as he was .025 to Anthony Jager’s .107, and he carried that advantage to the stripe and the Winner’s Circle.
In the Detroit Locker Truck & Lightning final, Mike Roup squared off against Johnny Lightning. Lightning took a slight advantage at the tree (.020 to .047), but it was Roup who was able to tighten up the package at the top end, running 11.290 on an 11.28 to Lightning’s 8.659 to 8.58 for the win.
Danny Towe has had his way with the SCT Ford Muscle this year, but in the final round of competition for 2023, it was Lloyd Mikeska who drilled the tree with a .019 reaction time and took the win over Donald Fotti and his classic Cobra Jet Mustang.
The Suncoast Performance 8.60 Street Race class swelled to 26 cars at its last of three races the season and couldn’t have been a better example of the tight, thrilling racing in the class. Randy Thomas took the slightest advantage at both ends of the track and drove away with the win over Matt Ballard, 8.654 to 8.656. 
TorqStorm Superchargers True Street saw 127 vehicles enter competition and it was Donato Sierchio who took the win with a 7.543 -second average. Mike Jovanis claimed runner-up with a 7.970 average and Bill Sheerhan was awarded the 8.50 win. Other winners include Jason Wagoner (9-second), Dominick Post (10-second), Brian Keiser (11-second), Tyler Park (12-second), Gauge Doyle (13-second), AJ Williams (14-second) and Belinda Moore (15-second).
The TREMEC Stick-Shift Shootout was filled with gear-banging action and Mike Niehaus qualified as the quickest stick car in True Street with a 9.33 average. At the conclusion of the 8-car eliminations, Skyler Hardy took the advantage at the tree (.208 to .329) and won the double-breakout contest with his 10.484 (10.75 dial) over Niehaus and his 9.072 (9.33 dial).
Circle D Specialties King of the Street returned to the NMRA Finals at this event, and Donato Sierchio set the qualifying pace with his True Street-winning, 7.54-second average. The final round of heads-up action came down to two multi-time True Street champions with Sierchio taking the win over Mike Jovanis, 4.72 to 4.87.
The Capri Club of North America brought in numerous fine examples of Ford’s Capri. On track, the final round featured repeat appearances for James Meredith and Chris Rolls. However, this year, Meredith grabbed a huge advantage at the start (.177 to .444) and collected the win with a 9.759 on 9.80 versus Rolls’ breakout 12.024 on a 12.24.
The Bracket Open offered some fierce, eighth-mile bracket racing. In the final round, Steve O’Neal defeated Tom Crowley for the win.
Check out the full eliminations results HERE.
2022 NMRA champions were honored for all of their accomplishments in the Winner’s Circle with a special photo session and video interview. Please visit and, and the series’ social channels, in the days to come for stories and videos that feature the champions.
The NMRA congratulates all of its 2022 winners, and its champions, who will be officially crowned during the NMRA Awards Ceremony held on December 9, 2022 during the Performance Racing Industry Show in Indianapolis.
The Holley NMRA Drag Racing season kicks off with the 29th Annual NMRA Spring Break Shootout at Orlando Speed World in Florida over the weekend of March 2-5, 2023! For more and information and advance tickets,

join our

email list

You’ll be first to know about NMRA events, race results and so much more!