Mid-Term Report—IDIDIT Performance NMRA King of the Street Qualifying

Jeff Bloem 1988 Mustang LX Twin Turbo Windsor Winner: JLT Performance Spring Break Shootout and QA1 True Street

New for NMRA in 2019 is the IDIDIT Performance King of the Street competition and the concept is simple. Every NMRA event serves as a qualifier for an end-of-the year 8-car heads up eliminator to determine who is the King of the Street. The only way to qualify is to grab an “Overall Winner” title in the QA1 True Street challenge at any NMRA event in 2019 or win either the JLT Performance Spring Break Shootout or Stifflers Gateway Rumble. It also makes the last True Street competition at the NMRA World Finals more valuable for those looking to vie for King of the Street honors.

We are past the midway point of the NMRA season and four of the eight spots are filled for this year’s King of the Street class held during the NMRA World Finals + Holley Intergalactic Ford Festival at Beech Bend Raceway September 26-29, 2019. So far Jeff Bloem occupies two positions on the ladder for winning True Street and the Spring Break Shootout during the season opener at Bradenton Motorsports Park. Slipping into the third spot is Dana Beaty as he captured the Overall Win during the NMRA/NMCA All-Star Nationals thanks to an 8.981 average from his “beater” 557ci big-block Ford (on nitrous) combination.

As the tour moved to St. Louis there were two new names on the list—Randy Thomas and Troy Eaton. Thomas grabbed the True Street victory with a 2010 Shelby GT500 as he completed the competition with a three-run average of 8.601. In the heads-up Gateway Rumble, Eaton topped Thomas in the finals and he managed to run a best of 9.07 at 160.81 mph from the turbocharged Fox-body Mustang.

Four of the eight spots are occupied and since Bloem holds two IDIDIT Performance invitations, NMRA officials will work their way down the list during the NMRA World Finals to fill the empty slot and have a complete group of eight to duke it out for the King of the Street title. The winner will hoist a check for $3,000 above his or her head in the Aerospace Components Winner’s Circle and IDIDIT Performance is throwing in an additional gift certificate for a race column valued at around $1,000.

Randy Thomas
2010 Shelby GT500
Supercharged 5.8L Mod Motor
Winner: QA1 True Street at NMRA Gateway Rumble, presented by HPJ Performance

Dana Beaty
1986 Mustang LX
Nitrous Oxide Big-Block Ford
Winner: QA1 True Street at Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center NMRA/NMCA All-Star Nationals

Troy Eaton
1989 Mustang GT
Turbocharged 302
Winner: Stifflers Gateway Rumble